Security, Development The Top Priorities Of Sahel-Saharan States — Communique

Bernama Malaysia

Security, Development The Top Priorities Of Sahel-Saharan States — Communique

RABAT, June 12 (BERNAMA-NNN-MAP) — Regional security and sustainable development are the top priorities for action by the Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD), according to a final communique issued after the Special Session of its Executive Council here Monday.

To this end, the foreign ministers and heads of delegations of the member states of CEN-SAD agreed on the implementation of sectoral policies based on the sharing of experiences of member states within the framework of South-South co-operation.

The implementation of these policies is based on the fight against terrorism, organised crime, the activity of separatist groups, cross-border crime, drug, weapons and human trafficking.

In the same vein, the CEN-SAD holds as priority actions security and food self-sufficiency, promotion of infrastructure and improving connectivity to promote the free movements of people, goods and services.

Priority should also be given to increasing trade and private sector involvement in preparation for the establishment of a free trade zone between member states, the communique said.

The Executive Council of CEN-SAD re-affirmed that the rebuilding of this organisation would make it a focal point for dialogue and action that operates on the basis of the principles of equality, sovereignty, respect for territorial integrity of member states, solidarity and fraternity to support development efforts and promote peace and security in the Sahel-Sahara zone.

The session called also for more cooperation between the member states of CEN-SAD to develop a common vision to make the organization a tool for economic integration and promotion of collective security.

CEN-SAD was founded in 1998 by Burkina Faso, Chad, Libya, Mali, Niger and Sudan while Central African Republic, Eritrea, Djibouti, Gambia, Senegal, Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Somalia, Tunisia, Benin, Togo, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Comoros, Guinea, Kenya, Mauritania and S�o Tome and Principe joined later.

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Morocco News, Sahara, Sahel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: